Home Nieuws Quick Oldenzaal, National Team Champions 2019 (Spring ed.)

Quick Oldenzaal, National Team Champions 2019 (Spring ed.)

The team from Oldenzaal won the National Team Championship for the second time in history.

Quick Oldenzaal Padel

On Sunday 26th of May, in Amsterdam, Quick Oldenzaal won the National Teams Dutch Championship 2019 -Spring Edition- by 4-0 against Adidas LTVL.

The Favorites

Both Adidas LTVL and Quick Oldenzaal were favorites to win this officially recognized team competition for the highest category.  They both presented the best track record in the country. Adidas LTVL won the 2017 (Autumn ed.) and 2018 (Spring ed.) Championship;  Quick Oldenzaal the 2017 (Spring ed.).

Additionally, their teams included some of the best players in Holland. For Adidas LTVL played national team coach Pjotr van Dalftsen as well as young Charlie Koper and Arwin Romijn, among others.  Their rival team featured some of the most internationally experienced padel players in Holland: Peter Bruijsten, Berend Boers and Joost Snellink. Their team was reinforced by former national team player Andreas Beer and German National Team player Daniel Lingen.

The Competition

Both teams started with a bye in the first round and progressed through the quarter finals without much challenge.  Neither Team Rising or Fantastic Five could put up to the level of the favorites.  Both teams won 4-0.

For the semi-finals, Adidas LTVL played against Padel071. Their star player Marnick Ryckaert and his boys managed to win one of the four matches.  Adidas LTVL moved to the final with a final score 3-1.   Similar was the case for Quick Oldenzaal against Gutierrez’s Boys -the Frisians from TV Joure-.  Quick moved to the final, 3-1.

The Final

During the final match the teams played the highest level possible in the country. There were plenty of long rallies and players running outside of the door.   The heavy winds created additional challenges as well as unexpected and curious situations.

Despite the high anticipation for a tight final score, the experienced players from Oldenzaal won the championship once again, 4-0.